Hirdre-faig Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Comprises genealogical and historical notes etc. relating to the Priestly family of Hirdre-faig and the parish of Llanffinan. Also includes poetry and letters written by family members and a book of ballads, sonnets, epigrams etc., mainly in English.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Priestly name was first associated with Hirdre-faig Penmynydd, Anglesey, north Wales when Samuel Priestly of Leeds came to the area and married Mary Jones of Trefan in 1796. They had two sons, Samuel Owen Priestly of Trefan, d. 1872, and John Priestly of Hirdre-faig, d. 1881. John Priestly married Jane Edwards of Nanhoron. Their children included Francis, d. 1860; O.J, d. 1893; Richard, vicar of Beddgelert; Henry S., rector of Heneglwys, d. 1904; Christopher of Hirdre-faig, d. 1908 and Annabella who married J.G. Wynne Griffith.

Arrangement

Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users

Note

Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, July 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department, University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 861-864

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Related Material

Also held at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor are Miscellaneous Deeds (Hirdre-faig Papers), see reference number: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 2054-2057