Account Book 1940
Deep Navigation Colliery
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 SWCC : MNB/COL/9
- Dates of Creation1940
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Deep Navigation Colliery was situated near Treharris in the Taff Bargoed Valley. In 1878 two shafts were sunk at the site which were, at the time, the deepest pits in the south Wales coalfield. During this period the mine was called Harris' Navigation Colliery after the name of the principal shareholder, F.W. Harris. The same man also gave his name to the neighbouring village of Treharris.
In 1893, the Colliery was purchased by the Ocean Coal Co. Ltd. who changed its name to Deep Navigation Colliery. The Colliery produced high quality steam coal which was greatly in demand notably by Cunard Steamlines. Deep Navigation became the sole source of the coal used for the record-breaking trans-Atlantic crossings of both the SS. Mauretania and the SS Lusitania. Another important event was the construction of the first ever pit head baths in the south Wales coalfield in 1916.
Upon Nationalisation in 1947, the Colliery was placed into the National Coal Boards South Western Division No. 4 (Aberdare) Area, Group No. 4. Deep Navigation was the subject of heavy investment and reorganisation during the 1960s but remained in production until March 1991.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), p. 191
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.