Deeds and documents relating to properties owned by C. H. Walker and Co. in Portskewett, Monmouthshire, [c. 1910]-1949; sale catalogue and plan of property in Portskewett, Caldicot and Caerwent, Monmouthshire, 1899, 1920; correspondence, 1918-1923.
B. R. A. No. 2028, Sudbrook Deeds
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The village of Sudbrook, Portskewett, Monmouthshire, was originally built to house workers on the nearby Severn Tunnel, completed in 1888. The tunnel's chief engineer, Thomas Andrew Walker (died 1891), who owned the Sudbrook estate, then opened a shipyard in the vicinity to take advantage of the existing infrastructure and workforce. In 1902 his brother, Charles, formed C. H. Walker and Co. Ltd to continue the shipbuilding industry in the area. The company went into liquidation in 1949 by which time much of its property in Sudbrook had been sold.
Arranged broadly into the following: deeds; other documents.
Deposited by Godden, Holme and Co. (now Goddens and Thicknesse), 16 Great College Street, London, per British Records Association, .
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Gwent Record Office, B. R. A. No. 2028; Drower Power! website (www.btinternet.com/~burtonvilla/), viewed 20 May 2004.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Gwent Record Office and the National Library of Wales.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected