Port Talbot Petty Sessions

Scope and Content

Minute books 1920-1940; Court registers 1919-1992; Other records 1920-1988; Rough note books 1948-56.

Administrative / Biographical History

Despite its status as an ancient borough, Aberavon did not receive a Commission of the Peace until 1865. Before that date it had formed part of the Hundred of Neath. The commission established courts at Aberavon with jurisdiction over the borough. In 1921 Aberavon Borough was greatly extended with the addition of Baglan Lower, Michaelston Lower and Margam parishes. This enlarged area was renamed Port Talbot. In 1974 the petty sessions divisions of Aberavon and Port Talbot Borough were amalgamated to form Port Talbot Magistrates, with an area of jurisdiction coterminous with the newly created Borough of Afan (later Port Talbot). After local government reorganisation in 1996 this division was amalgamated with Neath Magistrates to form Neath Port Talbot Magistrates.


Arranged by series in date order.

Conditions Governing Access

Items within this collection which contain information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service not to disclose the names of depositors.


Compiled by Andrew Dulley, West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy catalogue at item level is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service, and an online version is on the West Glamorgan Archive Service website.

Conditions Governing Use

Normal copyright regulations apply.

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained.


Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

See also the records of Aberavon Petty Sessions (reference P/S A) and Neath Hundred (reference P/S NBo) at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.