This collection consists of letters, mainly from Kate Jones, Head teacher of Bardsey Island Council School to David Thomas, Secretary of the Local Education Authority regarding her acceptance of the post of head teacher and the initial establishment of the school. Also contains the school manager's returns to the Board of Education giving details of attendance numbers and age of the pupils.
Bardsey Island Council School Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bardsey Island (Ynys Enlli) is situated off the end of the Llyn peninsula, north Wales, and was one of the most important places of pilgrimage in the Middle Ages. It was bought from the Glynllifon Estate by the Bardsey Island Trust in 1979, and made a National Nature Reserve in 1986. It has only a small community resident all year round which increases in the summer. Bardsey Island Elementary Council School was founded in 1919, following a proposal by the Local Education Authority which was approved by the Board of Education at the Welsh Office, to provide elementary education for the Island's small number of children. Records in this collection show that Kate Jones was appointed Head teacher and that the school had an average attendance of 8-9 pupils, between 1919 and 1921.
Material is arranged according to record type, in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, October 2001
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 11654-11663
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.