Papers deposited by Alderman W. J. Phillips, 1784-1926, including deeds and papers of the Fishguard estates of Captain William Gwynne Evans, 1786-1883; deeds relating to land in Portfield, Haverfordwest, 1838-1839; deed relating to land in Llandilo and Llangolman, 1799; deeds relating to the Hazelhill estate, Llanstadwell, 1815-1912; deeds relating to Prendergast, 1810; deeds relating to the Bullford estate, Steynton, 1784-1918; records relating to the Fishguard Harbour Improvement Co., 1906-1926; and miscellaneous papers, 1816-1837.
Alderman W. J. Phillips Williams Estate Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Alderman W. J. Phillips Williams of Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, accumulated papers relating to Fishguard and Haverfordwest, including those of Captain William Gwynne Evans, mariner (b. 1840), who owned properties in Fishguard, Pembrokeshire, including the Swan Inn, Bodmore Lodge and Bridge House; the Hazelhill estate, Llanstadwell, Pembrokeshire; the Bullford estate, Steynton, Pembrokeshire; and papers of the Fishguard Harbour Improvement Company, formed in 1859 to build a pier and quay at Lower Fishguard Harbour.
Arranged into the following: Estates in Fishguard belonging to Capt. William Gwynne Evans; Deeds of Portfield, Haverfordwest; Lease of lands in Llandilo and Llangolman; Deeds of Hazelhill estate, Llanstadwell; Deeds of a house in Prendergast; Deeds of Bullford estate, Steynton; Fishguard Harbour Improvement Co.; and Miscellaneous.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Alderman W. J. Phillips Williams, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, 1968, 1969.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Alderman W. J. Phillips Williams Estate Papers, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available in Pembrokeshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Pembrokeshire Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected