Patna

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1895, the Duchess of Teck Hospital was opened. This was named after Princess Marie Adelaide who was President of ZBMM from 1890. Local people preferred to call it the “Tik”, which meant “all right”. In 1916, the Christie wing was added, thanks to a legacy from the late Mrs Christie, and further enlargements were added in1930. In 1954, Dr Shanti Lal, daughter of the Biblewoman at Khurja, became Medical Director. The Scottish Auxiliary has taken a particular interest in this hospital, but BMMF sold the hospital in 1961 to a Roman Catholic order who continued to run it as a women’s hospital.

Access Information

Open

Conditions Governing Use

For permission to publish, please contact Archives & Special Collections, SOAS Library in the first instance

Copyright held by Interserve England & Wales