Ajodhya [Ajudhia]

Administrative / Biographical History

Miss E. J. Fallon began visiting zenanas in 1881. In 1888, two schools were established (including Helping Hands School), and a dispensary was opened in October 1891. In 1897, a small hospital was built (costing £70). Dr Maryam Williams, an Indian Christian, was the chief doctor, and she was overseen by Dr Mary Pailthorpe from Lucknow. By 1902, the buildings were considered unsuitable and too small. Development plans for the school and hospital faltered, and Helping Hands School was let to CMS and eventually sold to Miss Young in April 1922.

Access Information

Open

Conditions Governing Use

For permission to publish, please contact Archives & Special Collections, SOAS Library in the first instance

Copyright held by Interserve England & Wales