Manmad

Administrative / Biographical History

During the famine and plague of 1888, many children were brought to the ZBMM compound in Malegaon. In 1899, the Government promised mission stations a grant for each child taken in. Paton Memorial Home was thus opened, and evacuated in 1900 in favour of newly built premises in Manmad. This home also became a centre for village work. Alongside the home was Paton Memorial School, which also received children from Harvey Babies’ Home (originally in Nasik). In 1950, Paton Memorial Home was sponsored by a Christian Children’s Fund in the US, and in 1957 Harvey Babies’ Home from Nasik was grafted in. At some stage, Paton Memorial Home changed its name to Manoram Sadan Girls’ School. In 1969, control was handed over the Christian Medical and Educational Fellowship, a BMMF Indian Christian Trust.

Access Information

Open

Conditions Governing Use

For permission to publish, please contact Archives & Special Collections, SOAS Library in the first instance

Copyright held by Interserve England & Wales