This collection comprises the records of Pesci Bros Fish and Chip Shop, Barking, including deeds (1933-1957), weekly account books (1939-1995), cash books (1956-1970) and wages books (1987-1994). Also with the personal papers and photographs of the Pesci family (1920-1973).
Records of Pesci Bros Fish and Chip Shop
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 350 BD76
- Dates of Creation1920-1994
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description5 boxes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Pesci family, originally from Bardi in Italy, came to Barking from Wales in 1934, and went on to open a fish and chip shop at 15 Broadway. Only a few years later the shop was compulsorily purchased by Barking Borough Council so that the site could be used for the building of the new Town Hall. After a long search for a new premises the family finally reopened at 26 Ripple Road, Barking, which was formally a sweet shop, in 1939. The business flourished for nearly 60 years. Since its closure in the late 1990s, the shop and neighbouring properties were earmarked for demolition as part of the regeneration of Barking Town Centre, and on 28 March 2008 the building was finally pulled down. Past customers will recall the many pieces of etched glass, showing underwater scenes, which formed the main window and decorated the interior of the shop. With the help of the Regeneration Department, these panels of decorated glass, as well as the shop sign, were acquired by Valence House Museum. In turn the records of the shop are now held at the Barking and Dagenham Archive and Local Studies Centre. This administrative history is based on an article written by Leeanne Westwood, Curator of Valence House Museum for the Barking and Distric Historical Society.
Conditions Governing Access
This material is open to research and can be viewed at the Barking and Dagenham Archive and Local Studies Centre. To make an appointment to visit the reading room, please telephone 020 8227 2033 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org
Catalogued by Clare Sexton, Assistant Archivist.
Other Finding Aids
For further information about the contents of this collection, please contact the Barking and Dagenham Archive and Local Studies Centre by telephone 020 8227 2033 or email at email@example.com
Conditions Governing Use
For further information about our reprographics and publication charges, please visit our website
This collection was previously held by Valence House Museum.