Parish records of York, Holy Trinity, King's Court

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1616-1885 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1801); register of marriages, 1616-1885; register of burials, 1616-1847 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1812, ages only); charity records, including feoffees' elections, 1632-1686, notes of loans, 1632-1638, 1662-1686, and correspondence, 1904, 1927-1929; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1862-1938, restoration papers, 1858-1865, demolition plans, 1909-1910, and fabric papers, 1894-1938; faculties, 1936-1938; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1837-1867, 1871-1873, 1875, rates, 1837-1875, unpaid rates, 1851-1865, rates appeals, 1844, 1862, settlement examinations and removal orders, 1825-1858, lists of paupers relieved, 1840-1847, 1849-1866, correspondence, 1837-1873, 1901, maintenance orders, 1826-1829, and licenses to keep public houses, 1848-1864.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of Holy Trinity, King's Court, often known as Christ Church, was first recorded in 1268 when the rector was ordained sub deacon. The advowson was alienated to St Michael's Hospital at Well in the North Riding in the early fifteenth century and remained so after the Dissolution.

The ancient church, dating chiefly to the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, was demolished in 1861 with the exception of the East wall which was incorporated into the new building.

In 1886 the parish and benefice were united with York, St Sampson's and the church went out of use. In 1896, sheep were reportedly kept in the building by parishioners and the building was finally demolished in 1937. Of the original furnishings, the altar table was apparently moved to York, St Mary Bishophill Junior whilst the organ and pulpit went to Poppleton in the West Riding.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1963 by the Diocesan Archivist. A further addition was made to the archive in 1969 by the incumbent.

Note

The church of Holy Trinity, King's Court, often known as Christ Church, was first recorded in 1268 when the rector was ordained sub deacon. The advowson was alienated to St Michael's Hospital at Well in the North Riding in the early fifteenth century and remained so after the Dissolution.

The ancient church, dating chiefly to the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, was demolished in 1861 with the exception of the East wall which was incorporated into the new building.

In 1886 the parish and benefice were united with York, St Sampson's and the church went out of use. In 1896, sheep were reportedly kept in the building by parishioners and the building was finally demolished in 1937. Of the original furnishings, the altar table was apparently moved to York, St Mary Bishophill Junior whilst the organ and pulpit went to Poppleton in the West Riding.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1969.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1616-1885, marriages, 1616-1885, and burials, 1616-1847, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 828).

Archivist's Note

Created 12.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, St Denys and St George which include a map showing alterations of the areas of the parishes of All Saints and St Crux with St Saviour and St Sampson with Holy Trinity, King's Court; St Michael le Belfrey and Holy Trinity, Goodramgate; St Cuthbert; Holy Trinity, Heworth; and St Denys, 1975.

Bibliography

York Family History Society, ‘The Parish Registers of Holy Trinity, King's Court, York, 1813-1837’ (1979).



Yorkshire Parish Record Society, ‘The Parish Registers of Holy Trinity, King's Court, York, 1631-1812.’ Transcribed by Walter J. Kaye (1928).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193