Llangollen Rural District Council, Denbighshire, was created under the provisions of theLocal Government Act 1894. The rural district originally included the parishes of Llangollen Rural, Llantysilio, Bryneglwys, Glyntraian, and Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog. In 1897, Glyntraian and Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog were transferred to Chirk rural district. In 1935 the district was dissolved, and Llangollen Rural and Llantysilio were transferred to Wrexham rural district, and Bryneglwys to Ruthin rural district. The council comprised councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer.
Scope and content: Records of Llangollen Rural District Council, [c. 1865]-1935, comprising Clerk's department records, 1894-1935, including council and committee minutes; Treasurer's records, 1896-1935, including general ledgers, 1898-1932, and financial statements, 1896-1930; Rating Officer's records, [c. 1865]-1935, including valuation lists, [c. 1865], 1929-1934; Medical Officer of Health's annual report, 1931; and Surveyor's building control plans, 1919-1933.