Marcus Beresford, Archbishop of Armagh: Correspondence and Papers

Scope and Content

MS.Add.9407/1: Letters to George De La Poer Beresford, Bishop of Kilmore and Ardagh: [1-15] Lord John Beresford, Archbishop of Armagh (1820-1834); [16] Marcus Gervais Beresford (1841); [17] William Freeman (1813); [18] John Weir (1839); [19] 2nd Marquess of Waterford (1810).

MS.Add.9407/2: Letters from English and Welsh bishops, deans and dignitaries: [1-18] Charles Longley, Archbishop of Canterbury (1862-1868); [19-36] Archibald Campbell Tait, Bishop of London, Archbishop of Canterbury (1862-1878); [37] James Atlay, Bishop of Hereford (1873); [38-39] Charles Baring, Bishop of Durham (1862-1876); [40-41] Robert Bickersteth, Bishop of Ripon (1862-1869); [42] Charles James Blomfield, Bishop of London, to Walter Kerr Hamilton, Bishop of Salisbury (1854); [43-44] Edward Harold Browne, Bishop of Ely, later Winchester (1882); [45-46] Piers Claughton, Archdeacon of London (1876); [47] Augustus Duncombe, Dean of York (1879); [48] Constantia Ellicott (undated); [49] James Fraser, Bishop of Manchester (1875); [50] John Graham, Bishop of Chester, to J.H. Hayes (1865); [51-52] Walter Kerr Hamilton, Bishop of Salisbury (1855); [53] Lord Arthur Harvey, Bishop of Bath and Wells (1884); [54-57] John Jackson, Bishop of Lincoln, later London (1863-1878); [58] John Lonsdale, Bishop of Lichfield (1864); [59-61] William Connor Magee, Bishop of Peterborough (1869-1878); [62] George Moberly, Bishop of Salisbury (1871); [63] Alfred Ollivant, Bishop of Llandaff (1874); [64] John Pelham, Bishop of Norwich (1873); [65] George Selwyn, Bishop of New Zealand, later Lichfield (1867); [66] Charles Sumner, Bishop of Winchester (1862); [67-71] William Thomson, Archbishop of York (1863-1875); [72-75] Samuel Wilberforce, Bishop of Oxford, later Winchester (1862-1864); [76-78] Christopher Wordsworth, Bishop of Lincoln (1870-1882).

MS.Add.9407/3: Letters from Irish bishops, deans and dignitaries: [1-69] Lord John Beresford, Archbishop of Armagh (1853-1862); [70] Richard Whately, Archbishop of Dublin (1863); [71-91] Richard Trench, Archbishop of Dublin (1868-1870); (92-93) Robert Daly, Bishop of Cashel, Emly, Waterford, and Lismore (1863-1869); [94] Marcus Beresford to Henry Irwin, Archdeacon of Elphin (1861); [95-96] William Fitzgerald, Bishop of Cork and Cloyne, later Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, and Kilmacduagh (1862-1869); [97-111] Charles Leslie, Bishop of Kilmore (1854-1870); [112] Thomas Plunket, 2nd Baron Plunket of Newton, Bishop of Tuam, Killala and Achonry (1864).

MS.Add.9407/4: Letters from American bishops: [1-2] Gregory Bedell, Bishop of Ohio (1880-1881); [3] A. Cleveland Cox, Bishop of Western New York (1871); [4] Alfred Lee, Bishop of Delaware (1871); [5] Charles MacIlvaine, Bishop of Ohio (1871); [6] Horatio Potter, Bishop of New York (1871); [7] William Odenheimer, Bishop of New Jersey (1871); [8] William Stevens, Bishop of Pennsylvania (1871); [9] Henry Whitehouse, Bishop of Illinois (1871); [10] William Whittingham, Bishop of Maryland (1871).

MS.Add.9407/5: Letters from politicians: [1-3] James Hamilton, 1st Duke of Abercorn (1874-1875); [4] to ___ Annesley (undated, but pre-1862); [5-8] John Ball, Lord Chancellor of Ireland (undated; 1869); [9-52] Alexander Beresford-Hope (1860-1885); [53-62] Hugh Cairns, 1st Earl Cairns (1864-1879); [63-64] George Howard, 7th Earl of Carlisle, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland (1862-1863); [65] James Stopford, 5th Earl of Courtown (1867); [66-67] William Ewart Gladstone (1868-1876); [68-80] Sir George Grey and others (including Lord George Beresford, Archbishop of Armagh, A. Irwin, and Edward Eliot, 3rd Earl of St. Germans) (1862-1865); [81] John Wodehouse, 1st Earl of Kimberley (1866); [82-86] Richard Bourke, 6th Earl of Mayo (1867); [87-104] Sir Joseph Napier, Lord Chancellor of Ireland and member of the Ritual Commission; [105-108] Henry Temple, 3rd Viscount Palmerston (1863); [109-131] Sir Robert Peel, 3rd baronet, Chief Secretary of Ireland (1863-1865); [132-133] Archibald Stephens, recorder (1864); [134-135] Richard Bethell, 1st Baron Westbury (1864).

MS.Add.9407/6: Other letters, including those of [3-4] Brabazon Disney, Dean of Armagh (1871); [10] Charlotte Hawkey, poet (1871); [11-13] Alexander Irwin (c. 1862-1869); [21-22] William Kemp, secretary, Royal Commission on Ritual (1867-1870); [28] George Mackarness, Bishop of Argyll and the Isles (1857); [29-31] John Mackay, Liverpool (1852); [36] Marcus Rainsford, Vicar of Dundalk (1865); [37] William Reeves, Bishop of Down, Connor and Dromore (1863); [40-61] Thomas Robinson, Astronomer, Armagh Observatory (1862-81); [65-81] Evelyn Shirley, archaeologist (1870-1882); [82] R.H. Southwell (1856); [83-90] William Sparrow, Rector of Moneymore (1875); [95-96] James H. Todd, Irish scholar, Professor of Hebrew (1864); [97] Philip Tocque, Church of England minister, Toronto (1882); [100] Edmond De La Poer, titular 18th Baron Le Power and Coroghmore.

MS.Add.9407/7/1-15: Beresford's draft letters to unidentified people.

MS.Add.9407/8: Beresford's papers. [1-6] Personal and financial; [7-22] Religious, including [9-10] MS confirmation lists, places and numbers, undated; [16-19] Marcus Beresford, notes for speeches to Church gatherings, undated; [20] Marcus Beresford, draft, part of a visitation charge, on confirmations, c. 1882; [23-28] Political, including [23] Notes, Heads of a Bill to unite Irish benefices, sale of glebe houses, and a list of 17 Deaneries and Chapters to be suppressed where dioceses had been united, undated; [24] Notes for a speech in the House of Lords against a Bill injurious to the Irish Branch of the Church, about the transfer of ownership of Church assets, undated; [25] House of Lords speech conceding defeat over a Bill injurious to Irish Church revenues, undated; other papers, including [44] Augustus Stafford, poem, 'The Cross', undated.

MS.Add.9407/9/1-51: Later family papers, including [1] Robert Knox, Bishop of Down, Archbishop of Armagh, to George De La Poer Beresford (c. 1885).

Administrative / Biographical History

Marcus Gervais Beresford (1801-1885) was the second son of George De La Poer Beresford, Bishop of Kilmore and Ardagh, 1802-1841. He attended Trinity College, Cambridge, 1821-1824, and was thereafter Rector of Kildallon, Co. Cavan (1824-1827), Vicar of Drung and Larah (1827-1839), Archdeacon of Ardagh (1839-1854), Bishop of Kilmore and Ardagh (1854-1862), and Archbishop of Armagh and Primate (1862-1885). Beresford was Primate at the time of Disestablishment of the Irish Church (1871), and led negotiations for the terms and constitution of the Irish Church.

Access Information

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Purchased 1996.


Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Summary Catalogue. A detailed catalogue is also available in the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Geographical Names