Sunday school accounts of Bethania Chapel, Penmachno, 1900-1909.
Bethania Chapel, Penmachno Accounts
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
According to Hanes Wesleyaeth Gymreig by Rev. Hugh Jones, the first Wesleyan to visit Penmachno was Ellis Owen of Llansannan in 1806. He was followed by William Jones of Llanelidan and then Richard Jones of Trawsfynydd. A chapel was soon built and opened in 1808. It was sufficient for a few years, but had to be extended, and eventually a new chapel was built in the 1860's. In 1912 the chapel had 154 members.
Arranged chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, July 2002.
Other Finding Aids
An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 565-566
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.