Parish records of Cawood

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1591-1610, 1615-1627, 1635, 1637, 1639, 1641-1643, 1649-1996 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1779); register of marriages, 1591-1603, 1629-1636, 1641-1643, 1650-2004; register of burials, 1592-1612, 1621-1635, 1638, 1641-1643, 1649-1958 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1779, 1785-1792, 1811-1812, ages only between 1785-1792); register of banns, 1871-1988; register of services, 1899-1970; charity records, including note of bread charity, 1728, and appointments of trustees, 1886, 1888; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1716-1724, 1840-1921, briefs, 1724-1799, church rate polls, 1857, 1861, and fabric notes, 18th century, 1843; records of incumbents, including statistical returns, 1896-1905; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1833-1839; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1833-1906, 1921-1942, accounts, 1950-1977, and magazines, 1982-1983.

Administrative / Biographical History

The castle at Cawood was granted to the See of York by the Crown in the tenth century and was thereafter notable as one of the chief residences of the Archbishops of York. Although Cawood is not mentioned in Domesday, the earliest surviving part of the parish church of All Saints dates to c.1150 and may have been used as a chapel by the residents of the castle. The first written reference to All Saints Church was in 1294.
The parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Prebendary of Wistow from an early date, but no vicarage was ordained there. The curacy was augmented in 1810, 1811 and 1812 by Parliamentary grant.
The parish church was enlarged between the thirteenth and sixteenth centuries. It was restored in 1887 by architect J. Oldrid Scott and the south porch was rebuilt in 1935.
A part of Ryther was added to the parish in 1963. Today, Cawood parish is part of the united benefice of Cawood with Ryther and Wistow.

Arrangement

This arrangement was designed to reflect the principal activities of the parish and its associated organisations, and to aid researchers in identifying the records these activities generate. This arrangement was introduced in 2020. Records are arranged within the following alphabetical series but retain their original archival reference at file/item level:
A: Parish Registers
B: Church Ceremonial
C: Parish Clergy
D: Property - Religious
E: Property - Secular
F: Parish Administration and Officers
G: Parish Social and Evangelical Activities
H: Overseer of the Poor and Parish Charity
J: Schools
K: Promotional and Informational Material

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1975 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983 and 2012.

Note

The castle at Cawood was granted to the See of York by the Crown in the tenth century and was thereafter notable as one of the chief residences of the Archbishops of York. Although Cawood is not mentioned in Domesday, the earliest surviving part of the parish church of All Saints dates to c.1150 and may have been used as a chapel by the residents of the castle. The first written reference to All Saints Church was in 1294.
The parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Prebendary of Wistow from an early date, but no vicarage was ordained there. The curacy was augmented in 1810, 1811 and 1812 by Parliamentary grant.
The parish church was enlarged between the thirteenth and sixteenth centuries. It was restored in 1887 by architect J. Oldrid Scott and the south porch was rebuilt in 1935.
A part of Ryther was added to the parish in 1963. Today, Cawood parish is part of the united benefice of Cawood with Ryther and Wistow.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1983.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages, and burials, 1591-1885 and banns, 1871-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 663-664, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.02.16.
Parish schema applied for A. F. Medcalf, 25.01.2021.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193