Comprises registers of baptism, banns, marriage, burial and confirmation; records of the incumbent; records of the benefice; churchwardens' records; vestry records; parochial church council records; overseers of the poor records; charity records; school records; records of church organisations; statutory deposit records (tithes and enclosure) and miscellanea.
Llanrwst Parish Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CEP34
- Dates of Creation1613-1976
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description26 boxes, 6 outsize boxes, 3 outsize rolls, 1 outsize vol. and 1 outsize flat map
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The ancient parish of Llanrwst was of great extent. It comprised the township of Gwydir, in Caernarfonshire; and a number of townships in Denbighshire, with an area of 15,298 acres. These townships were Cilcennis, Tre'r Dre Isaf, Tre'r Dre Uchaf, Garthgyfannedd, Mathebrwd, Tybrith Isaf, Tybrith Uchaf, and Garth Garmon. In 1866, a portion of the township of Gwydir was transferred by an Order in Council to the parish of Capel Curig, in Caernarfonshire. Tybrith Ucha and Garth Garmon had for many years operated, unofficially, as the parish of Capel Garmon; and this was made official in 1927. The current parish comprises Llanrwst and Llanddoget.
St Mary's, the chapel of ease for the parish was consecrated in 1842 and deconsecrated in 1968 after it had been in disuse for some 12 years.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Received from the parish by the Denbighshire Record Office in 1976. Transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009.