Documents: YWCA, Young Women's Christian Association, Menai Bridge and Holyhead

Scope and Content

Documents: Conveyances 1920 and 1926; Insurance policies, 1926 - 1927; History of the Menai Bridge Y.W.C.A. 1890 - 1940; Plans, 1963; Programmes, 1966 & 1970; Letter, 1989; Newspaper cuttings , [c.1946] 1965; and an Agreement about conveyance of Holyhead hut to YWCA [c.1920].

Administrative / Biographical History

The Young Women's Christian was founded in 1855 in London by Emma Robarts and Mary Jane Kinnaird with its aim to support young women both socially and spiritually. The movement flourished and became international. The Menai Bridge branch of the YWCA was started in January 1890 with Miss Davies of Treborth, Miss Sophia Jones and Mrs. Evan Thomas as its officers. It was a great success with the Art Needlework classes of Mrs. J.R.Davies of Ceris being very popular. A lending library was begun and literary classes were held and meetings were held on Friday evenings from October to March. Among its early members were Katie Hughes and Dr. Helen Rowland who later became missionaries in India.


Menai Bridge and Holyhead

Conditions Governing Access

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Adnau preifat / Private deposit.


Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da/Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Gaynor Elizabeth Nice for Archifdy Ynys Môn/Anglesey Record Office. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Archifdy Ynys Môn/Anglesey Record Office, document Y.W.C.A. Menai Bridge & Holyhead WM2256/4 Booklet: History of the Menai Bridge branch of the Y.W.C.A 1890-1940. and

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.


Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected