The collection comprises the minute books of the governing committee of the School (1906-1928), an admissions register for pupils entering the School between 1906-1919 (admissions records for later students do not appear to have survived), a letter book, and a bundle of miscellaneous documents relating to the School's work.
Fielden Demonstration Schools
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 133 FED/5
- Dates of Creation1904-1950
- Physical Description6 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
For further details of the Fielden Demonstration Schools, see the headnote for this collection.
The Fielden Demonstration Schools acted as training schools for the Department of Education of the University of Manchester. The Schools were private schools, with their own board of governors; they were not owned by the University, but did receive financial grants from it and University staff were closely involved in the running of the Schools. The Schools (primary and secondary) opened in 1906, incorporating Catherine Dodd's former infants school (which had performed a similar function). They were originally based in Lime Grove, in a building which was later to serve as the home of the Department of Education of the Deaf, but in 1908 moved to larger premises in Victoria Park, following a benefaction from Sarah Fielden, after whom they were renamed. The Schools closed in 1926 due to financial problems.