Session minutes, 1845-1921, with lists of members and baptisms, 1902-1909; Session minutes, 1922-1938; Deacon's Court minutes, 1872-1938; Accounts, 1924-1938; Baptismal register, 1918-1938; Communion roll, 1869-1938.
Records of Falkland Free Church, Falkland United Free Church and Falkland East Church
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/357
- Dates of Creation1845-1938
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description9 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
At the Disruption in 1843 the minister of Falkland Parish Church, along with a number of his congregation, adhered to the Free Church and the first Falkland Free Church communion service took place on the West Green on 16 July 1843. During the initial months the congregation worshipped in the Congregational Church, and latterly in the town hall, until a church was erected and opened in March 1845. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, Falkland Free Church became the United Free Church of Falkland and following the 1929 union of the Church of Scotland and the United Free Church, Falkland U.F. was termed Falkland East Kirk Session. Falkland East later went on to unite with the charge of Falkland Old, under the name of Falkland, and after this union the East church was converted for use as a church hall.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.