Society records of the Methodist Church, Claxton Primitive Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Trustees' Treasurer's accounts, 1851-1934, with notes of Trustees' meetings, 1875, 1895.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

A Primitive Methodist chapel was built on Main Street, Claxton, in 1850. It was part of the York Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion until 1883, when the Circuit was divided into two. Thereafter the chapel was part of the York, First Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion (renamed the York, Monkgate Circuit from 1903).

It remained in use after the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches into a single Methodist Church of Great Britain in 1932 and would appear to have replaced Claxton Wesleyan Chapel as the village's main Methodist place of worship. The chapel was extended in 1961 and again in 1985.

It is unclear which Circuit the chapel belonged to after the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932. A Claxton Chapel was certainly part of Clifton & Monkgate Circuit until 1972 and then part of York, North Circuit until 2007.

The chapel was closed on 12 December 2007 and was later converted into a private residence.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 2013. Further additions were made to the archive in 2013 and 2016.

Note

A Primitive Methodist chapel was built on Main Street, Claxton, in 1850. It was part of the York Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion until 1883, when the Circuit was divided into two. Thereafter the chapel was part of the York, First Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion (renamed the York, Monkgate Circuit from 1903).

It remained in use after the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches into a single Methodist Church of Great Britain in 1932 and would appear to have replaced Claxton Wesleyan Chapel as the village's main Methodist place of worship. The chapel was extended in 1961 and again in 1985.

It is unclear which Circuit the chapel belonged to after the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932. A Claxton Chapel was certainly part of Clifton & Monkgate Circuit until 1972 and then part of York, North Circuit until 2007.

The chapel was closed on 12 December 2007 and was later converted into a private residence.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received prior to 2013. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 08.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York, Monkgate (previously York First) Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, as well as the York, North Circuit of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records for the first three Circuits form a single archive: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (Monkgate) Circuit. The records of York, North Circuit (known as York, Clifton and Monkgate between 1957 and 1974) can be found in the Records of the Methodist Church, York (New Street) Circuit.

Additional Information

Published

GB193