Abandoned Non-Coal Mine Plans

Scope and Content

Plans relating to Llanfyrnach lead mines, Crymych, and Green Hill ochre mine, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, 1883-1919.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Mines Inspectorate maintained records of abandoned mine workings in Britain. The records were transferred to the Health and Safety Executive. In Pembrokeshire, these mines were Llanfyrnach Silver Lead Mine, near Crymych, Pembrokeshire, operated from 1858 to 1891 by Llanfyrnach Silver-Lead Mining Company Limited; and Greenhill Ochre Mine Haverfordwest, active in the 1920s.


Arranged in chronological order.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by the Health and Safety Executive between January 1992 and December 1992.


Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Abandoned Non-Mine Plans, catalogue; Mining History Information Pages (www.ex.ac.uk), viewed 27 May 2005.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected