James Joseph Sylvester to Barbara Leigh Bodichon

Scope and Content

Autograph letter, signed, 4pp. 8vo, 60 Maddox Street W.

'Dear Madame Bodichon, I contemplate leaving England the day after tomorrow -- to pass a few days at Boulogne & thence to proceed to Lille where I am invited to be the guest of the town (is not that grand?) during the meeting there of the French Association for the Advancement of Science from the 20th to 27th Aug. Thence I have some idea of / / going on to Athens and Constantinople via Italy & to return to England by Vienna where I have some business to look after -- If I put this plan into execution I shall probably pass through Venice on my way to Trieste and in that case should be glad to find out your sister and Miss Blyth if they should be still in Venice when I pass through / / Can you give me their address and until what date they will still be to be found? I don't start before Friday Evening and perhaps not until the day following -- under any circumstances if you write please superscribe 'to be forwarded.' I was at Brookham Warren recently on a visit and met there Mrs Lushington & her husband -- your / / Cousin I mean -- for I never know the names of the two brothers. I understand they are to visit you in the course of their riding tour --I am free to stay abroad if not (too much ennuyé) until the end of October -- Lady Brodie (?) was looking very much better -- & your friend Ida is greatly improved and I can see has an excellent disposition. I hope you are well and with kind remembrance to Dr Bodichon I remain Yours very truly, JJ Sylvester.' [Mrs Brodie was probably wife of Sir Benjamin Collins Brodie, the younger (1817-1880), and the Lushingtons could have been the brother of Stephen (1782-1873) and his wife, as Stephen was a reforming MP]