Pay ticket 1911; Circulars c.1937
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 SWCC : MNB/COL/8
- Dates of Creation1911- c.1937
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 envelope
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Cymmer Colliery is situated in Porth in the Lower Rhondda Valley. The mineral rights for the colliery was leased by George Insole and his son, James in September 1844. The same year they opened the South Cymmer Level to the No. 2 Rhondda Seam. This was followed by a the No. 1 (Old Pit) shaft in 1847. During the 1850s, Insole sank two further pits on Cymmer land; these were the Upper Cymmer Pit (1851) and the New Cymmer Pit (1855). In 1856, the Cymmer Colliery was the site of one of the worst mining disasters in Wales when 114 miners were killed.
Insole and Son became a registered company in 1869. The Colliery remained an independant concern under the same family ownership until closure in 1940.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), p. 181
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.