1. Church history, 1922-2016; 2. Registers, 1918-1940; 3. Title deeds and official documents, 1878-1959; 4. Photographs of chapel ministers, deacons and members, 1874-1970s; 5. Adroddiadau blynyddol (annual reports), 1923-2008; 6. Programmes and ephemera, c. 1900-2016; 7. Plans, 1924-mid-20th century; 8. Minutes of meetings, 1945-1968; 9. Books of counterfoils of forms of transfer of membership from Siloh, Landore to other chapels, 1883-1992; 10. Lists of chapel members and their contributions, 1966-2000; 11. Account books 1879-2007; 12. Correspondence files, 1945-1979; 13. Records relating to maintenance and upkeep of church premises and property, 1891-2002; 14. Records relating to music, singing and concerts at Siloh Chapel, 1886-2005; 15. Records relating to the calling and induction of ministers at Siloh, Landore, 1947-1967; 16. Records relating to the Landore Building Society, 1887-1912; 17. Records relating to other chapels, 2001; 18. Commemorative items, 1914-1955.
Siloh Welsh Independent Church, Landore, Swansea, Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Siloh Independent Church, Landore, Swansea, Glamorgan, began with a Sunday School meeting in 1822 in the office of a local works in Landore. A schoolroom, called Y Coleg Bach, was built nearby. A chapel called Siloh was built adjoining Y Coleg Bach in 1829 and gave its name to Siloh Road, Landore. The building is still (2018) in existence near to the railway viaduct. The congregation eventually outgrew this buildling and in 1878, under the leadership of the Rev. Thomas Thomas, a new church, Siloh Newydd, was planned and built at the top of Siloh Road, with capacity for a congregation of around 1000. The old building, known as Hen Siloh, continued in use for a time with services in English. Siloh was influential in the local area; for example, Brynhyfryd School was established by the chapel, as were various local building societies. The chapel proved to be an ideal auditorium, and staged a variety of musical productions. By the 2000s the membership had declined. In 2013, following the closure of Brynhyfryd Baptist Church, the two congregations began to hold joint services, but in 2015 the decision was taken to close and the cause was officially closed on 10 Jan. 2016. The chapel (Siloh Newydd) was transferred in 2017 to a new congregation called Liberty Church who continue to meet there (2018).
Records arranged into series by document type.
Conditions Governing Access
No information found
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Religion - Nonconformist - Independent - Siloh, Landore, Swansea, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected