Parish records of Stillington

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1666-1923 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1782-1812); register of marriages, 1666-1985; register of burials, 1666-1954 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1812); register of banns, 1824-1968; register of services, 1910-1944, 1960-1991; register of confirmations, 1928-1963; records concerning benefice income, including sequestration papers, 1963-1964; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1880-1905, and Restoration Committee minutes of meetings, 1907-1915; school records, including Shrewsbury School stationery accounts for day boys and boarders, 1865-1870, and correspondence concerning Stillington Church of England school, 1900-1902; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1860-1922, and magazines, 1935-1947.

Administrative / Biographical History

There has a been a church at Stillington since at least the twelfth century, although little, if anything, of the original structure survives. The church was appropriated to the Prebendary of Stillington in the Cathedral Church of York and a vicarage was ordained there in the 1520s. The parish remained subject to the prebend’s peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century, when it passed to the Archbishop of York.

The present parish church, which is dedicated to St Nicholas, dates to the fifteenth century, although the nave and tower were largely rebuilt in 1840 by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York. It is notable for having had as its vicar Lawrence Sterne, the author of ‘Tristram Shandy,’ and for featuring work of woodcarver Robert ‘Mouseman’ Thompson.

Today Stillington is part of the Forest of Galtres benefice, which also includes Marton in the Forest, Sheriff Hutton, Sutton on the Forest, and York, St Leonard.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1973 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1978, 1982, 1984, 1998 and 2002.

Note

There has a been a church at Stillington since at least the twelfth century, although little, if anything, of the original structure survives. The church was appropriated to the Prebendary of Stillington in the Cathedral Church of York and a vicarage was ordained there in the 1520s. The parish remained subject to the prebend’s peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century, when it passed to the Archbishop of York.

The present parish church, which is dedicated to St Nicholas, dates to the fifteenth century, although the nave and tower were largely rebuilt in 1840 by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York. It is notable for having had as its vicar Lawrence Sterne, the author of ‘Tristram Shandy,’ and for featuring work of woodcarver Robert ‘Mouseman’ Thompson.

Today Stillington is part of the Forest of Galtres benefice, which also includes Marton in the Forest, Sheriff Hutton, Sutton on the Forest, and York, St Leonard.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2002.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1666-1956, marriages, 1666-1953, and burials, 1666-1954, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 788).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A Shearn, 09.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Marton cum Moxby are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193