Swansea Library operational records

Scope and Content

Committee and Sub-Committee minutes and reports, 1878-1970

Reports, 1875-1975

Financial records, 1883-1973

Correspondence, 1879-1979

General administration, 1855-1982

Records relating to the Library Staff Guild, 1938-1982

Accession registers and catalogues of books, 1870-1961

Publicity material, 1876-1981

Plans of libraries and library furniture, 1934-1972

Administrative / Biographical History

Swansea Library was established by Swansea Corporation in 1870 and opened to the public 1874. A new building was planned and designed by Henry Holtom of Dewsbury in the Italian classical style. It was opened in 1887 by the former and future Prime Minister William Gladstone. The circular reference library, 86 feet (26m) in diameter, had a domed top, 25 feet (7.6m) feet high in the centre. The building was closed and sold in 2007, the library being relocated to the new Civic Centre on Oystermouth Road, Swansea.

In 1876 John Deffett Francis, an artist and younger brother of George Grant Francis, gave a collection of paintings and books to the library. The art collection was known as the John Deffett Francis collection, and was later transferred to the Glynn Vivian Art Gallery. Francis acted as honorary curator until his death in 1901.

Arrangement

Arranged into series by document type

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.