Session minutes, 1827-1831 and 1857-1911; Communion rolls, 1859 and 1904; Baptisms, 1882-1893; Cash book, 1899-1930; Minutes, 1911-1929; Deacon's court minutes, 1901-1929.
Records of Strathkinness Associate Session, Free Church and United Free Church
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/291
- Dates of Creation1827-1930
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description4 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
There was a Relief congregation at Strathkinnes from ca.1801-1816, though not continuously in existence. In 1818, the Original Burgher Presbytery of Perth and Dunfermline prepared for a church at Strathkinnes, but it was only in 1823 when that congregation was organised. In 1827 Mr Ralph Robb, an Original Burgher preacher, was ordained as first minister of the charge and in 1839 he, along with his congregation, joined the Church of Scotland. At the Disruption in 1843, however, Mr Robb left the session, which then became the Strathkinness Free Church. At the 1900 union of the United Free Church and the United Presbyterians, the charge was accordingly termed Strathkinness United Free Church, and in 1908 was reduced to a preaching station. Following the 1929 union of the Church of Scotland and the United Free Church, Strathkinness United Free joined with the parish church congregation of Strathkinness, and the former United Free church was later sold.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956). Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; D. Scott, Annals and Statistics of the Original Secession Church (Edinburgh, 1886).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.