Records of Menai Bridge UDC, 1879 - 1974, including minute books of predecessor bodies Menai Bridge Local Board, 1884 - 1896, and Llandysilio Improvement Commission, 1879 - 1884; minute books of the Council, 1896 - 1974, and its committees, 1902 - 1937, 1948 - 1953; general ledgers, 1885 - 1970; rate books, 1932 - 1967; wages books, 1946 - 1962; valuation lists, 1929 - 1955; cash books, 1909 - 1966; housing ledgers, 1921 - 1946; other ledgers, 1931 - 1965; treasurers account books, 1913 - 1965; reports, 1900 - 1957; rate arrears books, 1935 - 1964; inspector of nuisances records, 1898 - 1905; surveyor's report book, 1898 - 1945; housing records, 1921 - 1946; evacuation papers, 1940 - 1947; licences for pleasure boats, 1889 - 1956; ferry, 1971 - 1973; plans and survey of pier, 1897 - 1902; log book, Prince's Pier, 1907 - 1924; and harbour dues, 1917 - 1930.
Menai Bridge Urban District Council Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 221 WBF
- Dates of Creation1879 - 1974
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.826 cubic metres (177 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Menai Bridge Urban District Council (Porthaethwy UDC), Anglesey, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894, as the successor to Llandysilio Improvement Commission, covering the civil parish of Menai Bridge (Porthaethwy). UDCs were bodies consisting of councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities could include sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, housing, streets, cemeteries, libraries, parks, controls on buildings such as petrol stations, and licensing of public entertainments. UDCs were administered by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor and Sanitary Inspector. Menai Bridge UDC had several committees, including finance, housing, electricity and unemployment committees. There was also a pier committee, which oversaw the construction and upkeep of the Pier (St George's Pier). Menai Bridge UDC was abolished in 1974.
Arranged into the following: Clerk's department; Treasurer's department.
Conditions Governing Access
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Many of the records were transferred following the abolition of the Council in 1974.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifdy Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Gwasanaeth Archifdy Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archivesand the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Gwasanaeth Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da /Good condition
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used to compile this description: Archifdy Ynys Môn/Anglesey County Record Office, Records of Menai Bridge Urban District Council; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Richards, Melville (ed.), Atlas Môn (Anglesey Community Council, 1972); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997).
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
Accumulated 1894 - 1974.
Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected