William Parsons Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Papers of William Parsons, 1836-1898, including deeds, 1846-1898, relating mainly to land in Llangyfelach, Pontardawe and Lewisham, Kent; wills and related documents, 1836-1869; papers relating to disputes, 1863-1865; correspondence, 1861-1897; accounts, 1864-1885.

Administrative / Biographical History

William Parsons was born in 1795 in the parish of Cadoxton-juxta-Neath, Glamorgan, the youngest son of Richard Parsons. He married twice, first to Mary Elizabeth Fergusson of Blackheath, Kent, then later to Esther Catherine Fearnall, the daughter of William and Clarissa Fearnall of London. He had two children with his first wife, Mary Elizabeth and John. William Parsons leased land for the Pontardawe and Pheasant Bush Tinplate Works in 1835. In 1842 he suffered financial difficulties and his elder brother, John Parsons, carried on the works for the next seven years. When William took over once again, the business was in healthy profit and in 1861 he sold the works to William Gilbertson. William Parsons died in 1864.

Arrangement

Arranged into the following: Deeds; Wills and related papers; Papers relating to disputes; Miscellaneous correspondence and bills; Swansea Canal; Household accounts; Account books of the executors of William Parsons' will.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Mr A. Robins, Strick and Bellingham, solicitors, Swansea, 1999.

Note

Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Catalogue of the papers of William Parsons.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.

Accruals

Accruals are not expected