The Patrington Manorial Records of the Marshall Family

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

These records from the manor of Patrington were presented to the library in 1932 by Richard Marshall whose family had been lords of the manor since 1846. They comprise court rolls (1577-1657); lists of pains (1623, 1627-1632); call rolls (1729-1740); some seventeenth- and eighteenth-century rentals; miscellaneous accounts; surrenders and admissions of copyhold lands (1629-1632, 1634-1635, 1639-1641, 1651, 1670, 1673, 1741); jury lists and allocations.

The records also include a draft surrender and admission for Roos manor in Ottringham (1708) and some miscellaneous material which includes the 1596 marriage certificate of William and Lettys Gedney; the 1668 burial certificate of Christopher Mason; two leases and a notice about a reward offered in 1829 for information leading to the capture of a felon.

Administrative / Biographical History

The manor of Patrington in the East Riding of Yorkshire belonged to the archbishops of York until 1545 until it passed into the hands of the crown. It was held by the crown until 1631 when Charles I assigned it to Henrietta Maria, so keeping it in royal hands. During the interregnum it was leased to Matthew Alured, MP for Hedon, but at the restoration it reverted back to the trustees of Henrietta Maria. For a while it was assigned to Katherine of Braganza, the consort of Charles II, as part of her marriage jointure. In 1698 it finally passed out of royal ownership and has been owned successively by the Aldsworth family from 1698 to 1728, by the duke of Portland 1728 to 1735, by the Crowle family 1735 to 1739 and then the Maister family of Hull. The Maisters held it as part of their country estate centred on Winestead for the next 90 years until they sold it in 1829 to Colonel Thoroton Hildyard (Maddock, `Court rolls of Patrington manors', pp.11-12).

In 1846 it was purchased by the Marshall family who also acquired land through the inclosure of Burton Fleming in 1769. The Marshall family remained the owners of Patrington manor into the twentieth century when a descendant, Richard Marshall, presented this collection to the Brynmor Jones Library in 1932 (Allison, History of the county of York, p.123).

Conditions Governing Access

Open

Note

Originally published by Access to Archives - A2A. The data in this finding aid is in the copyright of the place of deposit.

Other Finding Aids

listed to item level

Related Material

DX/24/1; DAS/26

Bibliography

Allison, K J, History of the county of York East Riding (1974)

Maddock, H E, `Court rolls of Patrington manors', Transactions of the East Riding Antiquarian Society, 8 (1900)