- Photographs albums, mid-twentieth century
- The majority of the collection is as yet unlisted
Records of Greenock Dockyard Co Ltd, Greenock, Inverclyde, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Shipbuilding and ship repair business, Cartsdyke, Greenock, Inverclyde, Scotland .
Originally owned by J E Scott of Greenock, shipbuilders, the site was taken over by Russell & Co , Greenock, in 1879 (later Lithgows Ltd ). It was an established dockyard when the Grangemouth and Greenock Dockyard took over in 1900. It was operational for eight years under this name before changing to the Greenock & Grangemouth Dockyard Co . It continued as such until 1920 when it was incorporated as the Greenock Dockyard Co Ltd .
In 1935, Greenock Dockyard exchanged yards with its neighbour, Scotts' Shipbuilding and Engineering Co Ltd , giving the latter a continuous shore front of buildings and repair capacity.
During the post-war years, the company came under the control of Clan Line Steamers Ltd , Edinburgh, Scotland. In 1966, it was taken over by Scotts' Shipbuilding & Engineering Co Ltd to then become part of Scott Lithgow Ltd in 1967. The yard at Cartsdyke ceased building in 1979.
This material has yet to be formally arranged
Conditions Governing Access
National Archives of Scotland : 1994
Held under the charge and superintendence of the Keeper of the Records of Scotland
Other Finding Aids
Manual file level list of the Scott Lithgow Group collection available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Requests for large scale copying must be referred to the Keeper of the Records of Scotland
Any requests to publish or reproduce documents from the collection must be referred to the Keeper of the Records of Scotland
This material has been appraised in line with National Archives of Scotland procedures
Records held by Scott Lithgow Ltd prior to their acquisition by the National Archives of Scotland
There are no known publications using this material
This material is original
The fonds level of description wascompiled by David Powell, Hub Project Archivist, 12 October 2001
No alterations made to date