Society records of the Methodist Church, York, Trinity (New Connexion) Chapel, Peckitt Street

Scope and Content

Register of baptisms, 1867, 1877-1935; register of marriages, 1927-1935; receipt for money forwarded to the United Methodist Church Chapel Trust on behalf of the Peckitt Street Trust, 1926; application for permission to sell the chapel and schoolroom, with letter giving consent, 1935-1936.

Administrative / Biographical History

Trinity Chapel was opened in Peckitt Street, York, in June 1856, by the Methodist New Connexion which had been re-established in York the previous year.

Designed by York architects J. B. and W. Atkinson, the chapel could seat 600 people and included a schoolroom, lecture room and caretaker's house. It was part of the Methodist New Connexion, York, Trinity Circuit.

In 1907 the New Connexion united with the United Methodist Free Church and Trinity Chapel became part of a new United Methodist Church Circuit. In 1911 it became part of the new Monk Bar Circuit of the United Methodist Church.

The chapel closed in 1935.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s.

Note

Trinity Chapel was opened in Peckitt Street, York, in June 1856, by the Methodist New Connexion which had been re-established in York the previous year.

Designed by York architects J. B. and W. Atkinson, the chapel could seat 600 people and included a schoolroom, lecture room and caretaker's house. It was part of the Methodist New Connexion, York, Trinity Circuit.

In 1907 the New Connexion united with the United Methodist Free Church and Trinity Chapel became part of a new United Methodist Church Circuit. In 1911 it became part of the new Monk Bar Circuit of the United Methodist Church.

The chapel closed in 1935.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Alternative Form Available

A copy of the baptismal register, 1867-1900, is also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 1785).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records of the York Circuit of the United Methodist Free Church and the York, Monk Bar Circuit of the United Methodist Church are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute as a single archive.

Additional Information

Published

GB193

Subjects