The group contains papers relating to the university chapel, including minutes of meetings; correspondence; reports; orders of service for special services held at the chapel; chapel term cards; newsletters, and sermons delivered at the chapel.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1953 UWL/10
- Dates of Creation1887-[ongoing]
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description0.17 cubic metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The original small chapel at St. David's College, Lampeter was consecrated in 1827. In 1879 it was closed and rebuilt according to the specifications of the architect Thomas Graham Jackson of Cambridge. It re-opened on the 24th June 1880.
During the early twentieth century, a collection was made for the chapel by Principal Bebb. He wished to see the chapel rebuilt once again, this time on a new site. But the First World War intervened, and the depression that followed prevented the college from embarking on building work. The money was instead used to purchase a new pulpit, altar and reredos for the chapel, which were designed by W D Caroe, and installed between 1928 and 1933. The organ was also renovated in 1934.
The chapel remains on the same site today. Although the number of students at Lampeter seeking ordination as clergy in the Anglican Church has decreased, and compulsory attendance at services has been abolished, it continues to attract a healthy congregation of students and staff.