• This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 197 CCT
  • Dates of Creation
  • Name of Creator
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      15 boxes 0.24 cubic metres

Scope and Content

Comprising: Hatfield court of requests register 1840-1847; plaint and minute books 1847-1969; registers: equity suits, 1869-1966; bills of sale, 1883-1982; deeds of arrangement, indexes etc, 1880s-1925; Workmen's Compensation Act 1920s-1965; ledgers 1930-1965; notebooks, judges, 1915-1987, and registrars, 1963-1987

Administrative / Biographical History

The Thorne County Court was established by the County Courts Act, 1846 (9 and 10 Vict. Cap XCV), replacing the Hatfield Court of Requests which had been established under a local Act of 1839 (2 and 3 Vict. cap. xcvii, amended by 4 and 5 Vict, cap lxxiv). The annual accounts of the court of record were deposited with the clerk of the peace for the West Riding and are now held, as part of the West Riding Quarter Sessions records, by the Headquarters Office of the West Yorkshire Archive Service. The area of the jurisdiction of the court covered places in both the West Riding of Yorkshire and Lincolnshire. A printed statement attached in the front of CCT/2/3 lists the places within the county court district as Althorpe, Amcotts, Belton, Crowle, Derrythorpe, Eastoft, Epworth, Fishlake, Hatfield, Keadby, Luddington, Stainforth, Sand Bramwith, Sykehouse, Thorne and Wroot.

Access Information


Public Records

Public access to records less than 100 years old is restricted under Data Protection legislation and at the request of HMCS. Please contact Doncaster Archives directly for further information.