Scope and Content

Comprising: log books 1891-1994; admission registers 1911-1994; managers minutes 1904-1948; photographs 1951-1994; other records 1979-1990s

Administrative / Biographical History

Although the precise date of the founding of this school in Warmsworth is uncertain, the second volume of White's 1837 History, Gazeteer and Directory of the West Riding of Yorkshire notes that it was erected by William Aldam and provided education for 50 pupils each paying 1d every week. Other documents relating to the early history of the school may be found in the Warde-Aldam papers (ref. DDWA/E7/1) and the parish records (ref. P31/8/1-5). The 1854 Ordnance Survey map and subsequent editions published in 1890, 1903 and 1930 show that the school occupied a site in Low Street. Sometime between 1930 and 1949, the name of the street was changed to Low Road, but the school remained on the same site until 1978. Despite the school's earlier origins, the first surviving log book begins in 1891 (ref. SR109/1/1) for Warmsworth National Mixed School, although by 1918 it had become a Junior Mixed and Infants (JMI) School, for children aged between 4 and 12 years. Due to changes implemented by the West Riding Education Committee, in April 1930, it became solely an infants school taking pupils aged between 4 and 6 years. Children aged between 7 and 10 years transferred to Warmsworth Junior Council School, while those aged 11 or over went to the Senior Council School at Edlington. As a result of changes brought about by the 1944 Education Act, in 1948, the school accepted "controlled" status from West Riding County Council. In 1974, due to local government reforms, the school came under the administrative control of Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council and in September 1978, it became a First School for pupils aged between 4 and 8 years in new premises on Stapleton Road. The old school building was re-opened as a community centre. In September 1994, the school was closed with pupils transferring to the newly created Warmsworth Primary School. This school for children aged between 4 and 12 years is an amalgamation of the two schools situated on Mill Lane previously known as Warmsworth First and Warmsworth Middle. The records of Warmsworth Middle School are listed under reference SR138.


The collection is divided into six series as follows:

SR109/1: Log Books

SR109/2: Admission Registers

SR109/3: Minute Books

SR109/4: Photographs

SR109/5: Other Items

SR109/6: Photographs of Warmsworth First School, Mill Lane

Access Information



Access will be granted to any member of Doncaster Libraries