Records of Foster & Company relating to its operation and its acquisition by Capital & Counties Bank, including customers’ account ledger, purchase agreements and bank premises records.
Foster & Company records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This private bank was formed in 1804 by the Foster family, corn millers, whose milling business continued until 1915. It was also known as the Cambridge & Cambridgeshire Bank. Many customers were drawn from the local agricultural industry. By 1904 branches existed at St Ives (1830), St Neots (1830), Royston (1834), Ely (1835), Newmarket (1844), Bishop's Stortford (1874), Littleport (1889), Saffron Walden (1901) and Wisbech. Capital & Counties Bank (est. 1877) acquired the bank in 1904.
Conditions Governing Access
Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. Please e-mail email@example.com for further information.
Other Finding Aids
Item level catalogue available - please e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org for further details.