The collection contains two volumes entitled 'Illustrations of Heraldry by S. Collinson, Nottingham', presumably Samuel Collinson (1812-1890), a Nottingham artist. The volumes contain fine painted illustrations of heraldic shields, coloured with gilt, oils and ink. The illustrations are accompanied by manuscript explanatory notes, the headings of which are illuminated. The pages are also decorated with floral and geometric designs. The second volume continues on from the first volume. The notes do not appear to have been collated into any particular order, and there is no page of contents, nor an index.
The first volume includes a copy of a letter from William Cowthorpe of the College of Arms to James Mitchell of Nottingham, relating to the Arms of the Borough of Nottingham, dated 4 October 1861. A newspaper cutting reporting a speech given by Thomas Close at the Exchange in Nottingham on 15 November 1865, arguing for the identification of William of Wickham, 14th century Bishop of Winchester and Lord Chancellor, as the architect of St Mary's Church, Nottingham, has been stuck into the back of the volume.
The second volume contains three images of figures wearing heraldic dress; large coloured illustrations of the arms of the Dukes of Rutland, Portland, Newcastle, Devonshire and St Albans, and the Earl Manvers; and printed newspaper or magazine cuttings relating to the arms of the Washington family. The volumes are undated and could have been compiled over a long period of time. Approximately half of the pages in the second volume have been left blank. The latest dateable item in the volumes is the arms of John Manning esquire, Mayor of Nottingham in 1875-6.