Mackerras Archive

Scope and Content

Private recordings of Sir Charles Mackerras, including performances by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra; Basle Radio Symphony Orchestra; BBC Concert Orchestra; BBC Symphony Orchestra; BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; BBC Philharmonic Orchestra ; Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra; Chicago Symphony Orchestra; City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra; Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra; Cologne Radio Symphony Orchestra; Czech Philharmonic Orchestra; English Chamber Orchestra; English National Opera Orchestra; Hannover Band; Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra; London Symphony Orchestra; London Philharmonia; Melbourne Symphony Orchestra; Metropolitan Opera House Orchestra; New York Philharmonic Orchestra; Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment; Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; San Francisco Philharmonic Orchestra; Scottish Chamber Orchestra; Tonhalle-Orchestra, Zurich; Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra; Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra; and Welsh National Opera.
The most commonly featured composers are Janáček; Mozart; and Wagner, but the archive also includes works by Bach; Bartok; Bax; Beethoven; Berg; Berlioz; Birtwistle; Bizet; Brahms; Britten; Cherubini; Chopin; Da Falla; Debussy; Delius; Donizetti; Dvorak; Elgar; Erba; Flotow; Glinka; Gluck; Gounod; Handel; Haydn; Humperdinck; Kodaly; Liszt; Mahler; Matinu; Meale; Mendelssohn; Nathan; Neilson; Orff; Puccini; Rachmaninov; Ravel; Rossini; Schoenberg; Schubert; Schumann; Shostakovich; Sibelius; Smetana; Richard Strauss; Stravinsky; Suk; Sullivan; Tchaikovsky; Tippett; Verdi; Vorisek; Weber; and Williamson.

Alternative Form Available

In partnership with Music Preserved, parts of the archive have been digitised and are available through the University of York Digital Library:


Further accruals are not expected.

Additional Information