Harewood Archive

Scope and Content

Recordings (mainly opera) collected by the 7th Earl of Harewood. The bulk of the recordings is comprised of performances by the orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden; the BBC Opera, Symphony and Theatre Orchestras; the English National Opera Orchestra; and the Sadler’s Wells Opera Orchestra; but the archive also includes performances by the Amadeus Quartet; Amsterdam Concertgebouw Orchestra; Austrian Radio Orchestra; Bavarian State Opera Orchestra; Bayreuth Festival Orchestra; BBC Northern Orchestra; Boston Symphony Orchestra; City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra; Czech Broadcasting Corporation Orchestra; Danmarks Radiosymfoniorkester; Deutsche Oper Orchestra; English Opera Group Orchestra; English Chamber Orchestra; Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra; Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra; Glyndebourne Opera Orchestra; Graz Pro Arte Orchestra; Hallé Orchestra; Hamburg Radio Symphony Orchestra; Hamburg State Opera Orchestra; Hilversum Philharmonic Ensemble; Italian Radio Symphony Orchestra; Köln Radio Symphony Orchestra; La Scala Opera Orchestra; London Mozart Players; London Sinfonietta; London Symphony Orchestra; London Philharmonic Orchestra; Lyric Orchestra of Chicago; Mayakovsky Operetta Theatre Orchestra; Milan RAI Orchestra; Munich Philharmonic Orchestra; NBC Symphony Orchestra; New Orleans Opera Orchestra; New Philharmonic Orchestra; New York Metropolitan Orchestra; North German Radio Orchestra; Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino; Orchestra of Cambridge University Music Society; Orchestra e Coro del Teatro La Fenice; Paris ORTF; Philadelphia Opera Orchestra; Polyphonia Orchestra; Prague National Opera Company Orchestra; Ravag Symphony Orchestra; Rome Opera Orchestra; Rome RAI Orchestra; Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; San Carlos Opera Orchestra; San Diego Opera Orchestra; Savonlinna Opera Festival Orchestra; Scottish National Orchestra; Serenata of London; Suisse Romande Orchestra; Swedish Radio Orchestra; Vesuvius Ensemble; Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra; Vienna State Opera Orchestra.
The most commonly featured composers are Britten; Janáček; Mozart; Puccini; Richard and Johann Strauss; Verdi; and Wagner; but the archive also includes work by Alwin; Barsukov; Bellini; Bennett; Berg; Berlioz; Blake; Bloch; Boito; Boulez; Brahms; Busoni; Castiglioni; Charpentier; Chavez; Cherubini; Cilea; Donizetti; Dvorak; Eastwood-Duncan; Eisler; Falla; Fauré; Franz; Gerhard; Ginastera; Gluck; Grieg; Halffter; Hamilton; Handel; Haydn; Henze; Hindemith; Honegger; Kokkonen; Ligetti; Lutyens; Mahler; Malipiero; Martinu; Mascagni; Massenet; Maxwell Davies; Meyerbeer; Nielsen; Offenbach; Orr; Pasatieri; Penderecki; Pfitzner; Prokofiev; Rachmaninoff; Respighi; Rimsky-Korsakov; Rossini; Roussel; Saint-Saens; Sallinen; Schoeck; Schoenberg; Schreker; Schubert; Schumann; Shostakovich; Smetana; Spohr; Spontini; Stockhausen; Stravinsky; Tippett; Ullmann; von Einem; Weber; Weber-Mahler; Weill; Wolf; Wolf-Ferrari.

Alternative Form Available

In partnership with Music Preserved, parts of the archive have been digitised and are available through the University of York Digital Library: https://dlib.york.ac.uk/yodl/app/collection/detail?id=york%3a819363&ref=browse


Further accruals are not expected.

Additional Information