Photographs by A.N. Smith of mills in Derbyshire, c.1959-1970

Scope and Content

The collection contains eleven black and white photographs depicting mills in and around Belperand Cromford, Derbyshire. Apart from Arkwright's Mill at Cromford, all of the buildings were ownedby W.G. and J. Strutt Ltd., cotton spinners. Notes on the back provide brief identifications, andinclude later notes of demolition.

  • Milford Mills from south (Strutts). Demolished 1964. (MS 204/1)
  • 4th floor cruciform building Milford Mills Strutts. Demolished 1964. (MS 204/2)
  • Cruciform building Milford Mills. Strutts (Old Warehouse). Demolished 1964. (MS 204/3)
  • North Mill Belper. Strutts. Built 1786. Burnt Down 1803. Rebuilt 1804. (MS 204/4)
  • West Mill Belper. With Junction Mill and end of Reeling Mill. Demolished 1961. (MS 204/5)
  • Round Mill. Strutts. Belper. Built c. 1810. Demolished Dec. 1959. (MS 204/6)
  • Round Mill Belper. c. 1910. From North West. Demolished 1959. (MS 204/7)
  • Round Mill Belper with Mule Room and West Mill (Reeling and Junction). (MS 204/8)
  • Milform Mill from Sunny Hill (Strutts). Demolished 1964.(MS 204/9)
  • Arkwright's Original Mill, Cromford. (MS 204/10)
  • South Mill. Strutts. Belper. Build 1776 Wooden framework. Rebuilt 1810 Iron. Demolished 1962. (MS204/11)

Administrative / Biographical History

A.N. Smith, the photographer of items in this collection, was based in Belper, Derbyshire duringthe time when these photographs were taken. His name and address is printed on the reserve of thephotographs, with, in most cases, a date stamp.


No archival arrangement has been necessary.

Access Information

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.


Other Finding Aids

  • This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright on thedescription belongs to the University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of any material from this collection must be soughtin advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections(email TheDepartment will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and theresponsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishingto publish.

Custodial History

The collection was given to the University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts by A.N.Smith in December 1970.