COUNCIL FOR THE PROTECTION OF RURAL ENGLAND

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Consists of minute books 1926-1968; annual reports 1927-1982; monthly reports 1932-1958; correspondence 1925-1990; publications 1926-1999; maps 1943-1969; posters and exhibition material 1928-1960's; watercolours 1857-1888; press cuttings 1910-1990; photographic material 1895-1980's

Administrative / Biographical History

The Council for the Preservation of Rural England (CPRE) was established in 1926. The Council saw itself as the guardian of the countryside, campaigning against threats to it. The CPRE had constituent and affiliated bodies, as well as county and local branches throughout England.

In 1969 the name of the Council was changed to The Council for the Protection of Rural England to reflect a change in approach to its activities.

The name of the Council was again changed to The Campaign to Protect Rural England, aiming to promote the beauty, tranquillity and diversity of rural England by encouraging the sustainable use of land and other natural resources in town and county.

Arrangement

  • SR CPRE A Minute Books
  • SR CPRE B Annual Reports
  • SR CPRE C Administrative Records
  • SR CPRE D Publications
  • SR CPRE E Maps
  • SR CPRE F Exhibitions and Promotional Material
  • SR CPRE G Watercolours
  • SR CPRE H Press Cuttings
  • SR CPRE PH Photographic Records

Conditions Governing Access

Available for consultation

Acquisition Information

Accession numbers S79/1, S82/1, DX48, DX877, S85/3, S87/3, S90/5, S85/4, S89/3, S92/3 and DX904

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available at the Museum of English Rural Life

Conditions Governing Use

Please contact the Archivist