Llandegla National School was opened 5th January 1874. Before the National Schol was built, 11 pupils from Llandegla were attending a Charity School located in the churchyard, funded by voluntary subscriptions.
J.K. Roberts was the first headmaster at Llanbedr National School in 1874 and 34 pupils were in attendance. (ED/LB/45/1)
By 1877 the number of pupils in attendance had increased to 151.
In 1895 the school was divided into an Infants and a Mixed school.
In 1897 the school transferred to the St. Asaph diocese in order to obtain grant aid and became a church/national school.
The school was renamed Ysgol Efeilliol in 1980 and twinned with Bryneglwys school to prevent closure due to low pupil numbers.
In 1989 the joint school was renamed Ysgol Dyffryn Ial, unifying both schools under one name even though the schools were in fact 5 miles apart.
In 2015 Llanbedr Church in Wales School operates as a voluntary controlled bilingual state school.
This collection consists of two log books.
Allt yr Efail, Llandegla. LL11 3AW
PPD/45/8-Llandegla school. 1970
PPD/45/9- Llandegla National Primary School pupils. 23rd November 1914
DD/DM/768/3-Pages from pupil's writing exercise book (?) from Llandegla National School (includes fragments from Bow Bells, 1 April 1870) n.d.[c.1870] (1 bdle)
Llandegla Millenium Action Group, Llandegla Then and Now,2003