Correspondence and papers of Dorothea Jane Stephen relating to her activities as an educational missionary in South India, 1927-mid 20th century.
Papers of Dorothea Jane Stephen
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 150 DA53
- Dates of Creation1927-[195-]
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description19 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Dorothea Jane Stephen (fl. 1927-1950) was a missionary in India. She was warden of St Andrew's Missionary Training College, Madras, later known as St Andrew's Training College for Religious and Social Service, and St Andrews House, which was established in July 1928, and closed in 1935.
Reference: University of Birmingham, Special Collections Department, Online Archive Catalogue ( http://calmview.bham.ac.uk/ ). Accessed May 2002.
The papers are arranged into a series of correspondence. Thereunder files are arranged chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
Open. Access to all bona fide researchers. All papers held at the Orchard Learning Resources Centre will be viewed at the Birmingham University Information Services, Special Collections Department. Please contact the University Archivist for further information.
These papers were originally acquired by the Reverend J. Stirling M. Hooper, though they were later possibly transferred to the custody of Reverend (James Edward) Lesslie Newbigin on his possible acquisition of Hooper's papers.
Other Finding Aids
Please see online catalogue for further information.
Conditions Governing Use
Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the University Archivist, Special Collections. Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Special Collections will assist where possible with identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
Following the merger of the Selly Oak Colleges and the University of Birmingham in 1999 the custodial ownership of collections belonging to the Selly Oak Colleges and held at the Orchard Learning and Resource Centre (OLRC) was transferred to the University. These collections now form part of the University's Special Collections Department and are available for consultation at the Main Library on the University's Edgbaston Campus.