Society records of the Methodist Church, Gate Helmsley Wesleyan Chapel

Scope and Content

Trustees' records, including minutes of meetings, 1955-1978, account books, 1863-1981, and bank book, 1951-1971; Methodist Society account book, 1973-1981; general financial records, including account book containing record of collections, 1965-1975, collection journal, 1914-1961, and financial papers, 1970-1981; church notices, 1972-1978; service book, n.d.; correspondence and circulars, mainly on Circuit matters, [1970s]; York and Area Holiday Club report, 1975; correspondence and papers of Reverends D. Baker, P. Morley and J. Woods, concerning joint Anglo-Methodist services, 1975-1976; papers concerning closure and sale of chapel, 1978-1981.

Administrative / Biographical History

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built at Gate Helmsley in 1814. It was replaced by a new, larger chapel in 1864.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Gate Helmsley became part of York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, it remained part of the York, Centenary Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion until its closure.

The chapel was closed c.1978 and subsequently sold.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1999. A further addition was made to the archive in 1999.

Note

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built at Gate Helmsley in 1814. It was replaced by a new, larger chapel in 1864.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Gate Helmsley became part of York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, it remained part of the York, Centenary Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion until its closure.

The chapel was closed c.1978 and subsequently sold.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1999.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit, York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and York, Centenary Circuit of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of the York Circuit and York, New Street Circuit form a single archive (MRC/1), as do the records of both Centenary Circuits (MRC/3).

Additional Information

Published

GB193