Report and plan, 1863, on lands belonging to the War Department at the Mumbles, Glamorgan.
Report on lands belonging to the War Department at the Mumbles
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 216 D/D PRO/MOD
- Dates of Creation1863
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(1 vol)
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Duke of Beaufort leased the outer island at Mumbles Head, Glamorgan, to the War Department during the late 19th century. A blockhouse was built near the Mumbles lighthouse in 1860 as a defence against possible invasion from France. Samuel Howlett (1794-1874), military surveyor and inventor produced a report on the defences in 1863.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Report on lands belonging to the War Department at the Mumbles, Glamorganshire, by Samuel B. Howlett, 1863, catalogue; Enjoy Gower Homepage, (http://www.enjoygower.com/), viewed 26 January 2005.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Information not available
Accruals are not expected