Worker's Time Books 1913-1925; Time keeper's record of stamps issued and used 1958-1962
Clydach Merthyr Colliery
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 SWCC : MNB/COL/6
- Dates of Creation1913-1962
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 box
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Clydach Merthyr Colliery was situated near Clydach in the Swansea Valley.
The mine was opened in 1863 by the Graigola Merthyr Company, a member of the Monmouthshire and South Wales Coal Owners' Association. The Graigola seam produced high quality coal which had a very low percentage of ash. This feature meant that 'Graigola Merthyr' patent coal fuel was used by many important foriegn rail and steamship companies.
When the coal industry was nationalised in 1947, the Graigola Merthyr Colliery was placed in the National Coal Board's South Western Division, No.1 Area. From this date, the colliery also began to work in conjunction with the neighbouring Abergelli Slant until its closure in June 1961
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), pp. 138-9
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.