Records relating to Pembrokeshire County Council, 1857-2004, including letter books, 1937-1977; plans from the County Architect, 1907-1978; records relating to electoral registration, 1889-2004; annual reports of the Pembrokeshire County Fire Brigade, 1948-1963; occurences and duty rosters, 1942-1943; records relating to vehicles, 1941-1943; records of Pembrokeshire County Council Health Department, 1911-1998, including ambulance logs and run books, 1948-1959; records of the roads and bridges department, 1912-1975; records of the Pembrokeshire County and Regional Library, 1929-1980; records of the Motor Vehicle Licensing Department, 1899-1986; planning applications, 1930-1948; records of Pembrokeshire Constabulary, 1857-1978; records of the Pembrokeshire Record Office, 1964-1971; videos, [c. 1985]-; and records relating to the Treasurer's Department, 1892-1974. This collection conatins no material from the Social Services and Education Departments.
Pembrokeshire County Council Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 PCC /PCC/2
- Dates of Creation1857-2004
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionInformation to be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Pembrokeshire County Council was created in 1889. Responsibility for the registering of electors was transferred from the Clerk's of the Peace to the new County Councils in 1889 and the Representation of the People Act 1918 created the office of Registration Officer. The County was responsible for Pembrokeshire County Fire Brigade, which in 1995 became the Mid and West Wales Fire Services. The ambulance service in the county was administered by an Ambulance Committee from 1948 until 1954, when a new Ambulance Sub-Committee of the Health Committee was established. The County Council first exercised control over planning matters through the District Advisory Sub-Committee of the Main Roads Committee; the Restriction of Ribbon Development Act 1935 led to the creation of the Restriction of Ribbon Development Committee, which was initially a joint sub-committee of the Roads and Bridges Committee and the Joint Planning Committee, itself established in 1934. The District Advisory Sub-Committee was abolished in 1939, and the Joint Planning Committee and Restriction of Ribbon Development Committee were both dissolved in 1948, when the County Planning Committee was established. The county also oversaw the Pembrokeshire Constabulary, which was absorbed into the Dyfed Powys Police in 1968, vehicle licensing, Pembrokeshire Record Office, established in 1963, and Pembrokeshire County Library. In 1974, under local government reorgianisation the Council was merged with Carmarthenshire and Cardiganshire County Councils to form Dyfed County Council. In 1996, Dyfed was replaced by three unitary authorities, and Pembrokeshire County Council was re-instated.
Arranged into the following: County Architects Department; Emergency Planning; Electoral Registration; Pembrokeshire County Fire Brigade; Health Department; Roads and Bridges Department; Pembrokeshire County Library; Motor Vehicle Licensing Department; and Planning Department; and Clerks Department.
The access to PCC/ER 2002/2003 is restricted. Items 81-91 of PCC/HE/1 (Health Department) are closed for 50 years from date of final entry. The records of the Town and Planning Committee PCC/SE/43 are restricted. PCC/TR/6/47 has restricted access until 2038.
Transferred by the County Architect in July 1978 and deposited in October 2003.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following source were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Pembrokeshire County Council, catalogues, Mid and West Wales Fire and Rescue Service website (www.mawwfire.gov.uk), viewed 31 May 2005; Pembrokeshire County Council website (www.pembrokeshire.gov.uk), viewed 31 May 2005; Welsh Police Football Association website (www.wpfa.fsnet.co.uk), viewed 31 May 2005; personal correspondence with Sue Armour, Support Librarian, Reference and Local Studies Department, County Library, Dew Street, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire on 7 June 2005.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
The records PCC/FI/2 were amongst records of the A.F.S. Station in Hill Street, Haverfordwest. They were found when the premises were being altered in May 1989.
Accruals are not expected