Brynteg Board School opened on 30th November 1875. The school opened with 51 pupils and the Headmaster of the boys school was Evan Williams and headmistress to the girls school was Esther Hindley. The number of pupils rose to 109 by 24th December 1875.
In 1903 the board school split into two sites, a new site on Quarry road for boys and the existing site became known as Brynteg Girl's school and infants. In 1935 the school reopened as Central School and was later renamed as Brynteg Modern School in 1946.
1953-1964- Known as Brynteg County Secondary School
1964- Became known as Brynteg Secondary Modern School
1977- Girls school closed
1978- Due to structural damage the boys school on Quarry Road closed and all children transferred to other schools. The building was later demolished in 1984.
In 1978 Brynteg Junior County Primary School was built in Rockwood Council Estate which still exists in 2015.
Wrexham Road/Victoria Road, Brynteg
The collection includes: log books; admission registers; managers minutes; accounts; plans; photographs; and material related to Denighshire Education Authority.
DD/DM/228/45-Brynteg Boys School staff photograph
"Broughton Then and Now", John Bagshaw