Gerke Manuscripts

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Lease: Robert Morris to Chauncy Townsend of land in Llangevelach, called Ca'r Fryndy, for coal mining 1769; articles of agreement for increasing the capital in their copper smelting works, etc.: John Thomas and Edward Lockwood, Edward Elliot, Robert and John Morris, Heather and Edward Gibbon, Martin Fonereau and Thomas Misenor 1774; assignment of mortgage: James Cox to William Metcalf and Petr Davy, of Cwm Farm, Llansamlet 1829.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Morris family were copper smelters of Swansea in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Chauncey Townsend and Company operated lead and copper works in the Lower Swansea Valley, at Middle bank 1755-1764 and Upper Bank c1757-c1777.

Conditions Governing Access

Please refer to repository.

Conditions Governing Use

Please refer to repository.

Custodial History

This collection forms part of the Royal Institution of South Wales Collection and was transferred from the Archives at University of Wales Swansea to West Glamorgan Archive Service in April 2004.

Family Names