Denaby Main Industrial Co-operative Society

Scope and Content

This series consists of records created by Denaby Main Industrial Co-operative Society including balance sheets, trust deeds, agreements, grocery stock list, insurance policy, and beer retailer's licence.

Administrative / Biographical History

Denaby Main Industrial Co-operative Society was first registered on 15 Aug 1883. The registered office of the Society was at Doncaster Road, Denaby Main. The first Committee was made up of W H Chambers, James Rose, Henry Sylvester, James Cramp, William Chambers, Isaiah Blunt, John Dixon, and Benjamin Houldsworth. By Mar 1884 there were 94 members.

In 1967 the Society became part of Doncaster Co-operative Society. At this point the Society had branches at 1 Hickelton Street; 21 and 33 Strafforth Terrace; Melton View, 95 Doncaster Road; School Walk; Chestnut Grove, Conisborough; and Old Road, Conisborough. They also had a slaughter house at Denaby Lane.